Saudi Arabia Allows Indonesian Citizens to Enter, Owner of Lion Air Company: It’s Hope

Jakarta – President Director of Lion Air Group Edward Sirait responded to the opening of Saudi Arabia’s doors to 20 countries, including Indonesia. Edward alias Edo considered the policy to be a breath of fresh air.

“If it happens, because we have not received complete information, it is hope,” said Edo when contacted on Thursday, August 26, 2021.

Saudi Arabia previously announced the opening of national borders for expatriates from 20 countries including Indonesia to enter its territory. Since last February, Saudi Arabia has banned the entry of flights from a number of countries to contain the spread of the corona virus.

Edo said that currently the airline is still waiting for complete information from the Arab and Indonesian aviation authorities. His party has not disclosed the airline’s reactivation plan and flight plans back to the country.
As for before the route to Arabia was closed, Lion Air Group had scheduled flights. “Almost twice a day,” said Edo, explaining the frequency of his airline’s flights.

As reported by Arabnews, the Consular Agency of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced that the decision to open the border gate only applies to expatriates who are fully vaccinated in Saudi Arabia. Vaccination is done before they depart from the country of origin. The ban excludes Saudi nationals, foreign diplomats, health practitioners and their families.

Expatriates who wish to return to work in Saudi Arabia must ensure that they are free of the COVID-19 virus. The entry ban was previously imposed due to the surge in the Covid-19 virus in the UK, South Africa and Brazil. In addition, there are concerns that the Covid-19 vaccine is less effective against the delta variant.

Not only for Indonesia, other countries that are allowed to enter Saudi Arabia are the United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Lebanon, Turkey, USA, UK, Germany, France, Italy, Ireland, Portugal, Switzerland, Sweden, Brazil, Argentina, South Africa, India, Pakistan, and Japan. This policy also applies to travelers who transit in any of the 20 countries in the 14 days prior to arriving in Saudi Arabia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *